How do I restore a file I have deleted on a shared filestore?

Check the Recycle Bin for deleted files

  • Look for a folder called $BinAilgylchu-RecycleBin and open it if it is available. This folder contains all recently deleted files
  • Move the file out of this folder back to its original location to restore it
  • This folder will only exist if a file has been recently deleted and saved to the Recycle Bin
  • If the file isn't in the Recycle Bin or it is the wrong version then you can ues the instructions to restore from a backup below

Restore from a backup

  • Right-click on the folder that contained the file you need to recover and select Restore Previous Versions
  • Browse the available versions. When you find one you want to restore, click on it to select it and then click Open
  • Drag and drop this file to a different location e.g. your Desktop
  • Open the file or folder you copied and check it is the correct version
  • If you are sure you have the correct version, you can copy it back to your shared filestore
  • Warning: Once you replace the current version with a backup, the replacement can't be undone. If you aren't sure, change the name to something else before copying it back to your filestore
Contact for this page:
Information Services, Aberystwyth University, Hugh Owen Library, Penglais, Aberystwyth, SY23 3DZ
Tel: 01970 62 2400 Email: is@aber.ac.uk